Semifinalists Announced for 12th Annual Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize. Artscape 2018 information coming soon!

The Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts announces the semifinalists for the 12th  annual Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize.  The competition awards a $25,000 fellowship to assist in furthering the career of a visual artist or visual artist collaborators living and working in the Greater Baltimore region.  For 2017, 36 individual artists have been selected as semifinalists.

2017 Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize Semifinalists

Carolyn Case, Cockeysville, MD

Heather Clark, Leesburg, VA

Shannon Collis, Lutherville, MD

Hoesy Corona, Baltimore, MD

Rachel Debuque, Riverdale Park, MD

Selina Doroshenko, Baltimore, MD

Tim Doud, Washington, DC

Mary Early, Washington, DC

Colin Foster, Baltimore, MD

Emily Francisco, Washington, DC

Bryan Funk, Baltimore, MD

Tatiana Gulenkina, Washington, DC

Cadeatra Harvey, Baltimore, MD

Muriel Hasbun, Silver Spring, MD

Taha Heydari, Baltimore, MD

Ricardo Hoegg, Baltimore, MD

Travis Levasseur, Baltimore, MD

Nathaniel Lewis, Washington, DC

Giulia Livi, Baltimore, MD

Kelly Lloyd, Baltimore, MD

Bruce McKaig, Baltimore, MD

Scott Pennington, Baltimore, MD

Paul Rucker, Baltimore, MD

James Singewald, Baltimore, MD

Julia Smith, Baltimore, MD

Dan Steinhilber, Washington, DC

Katya Villano, Baltimore, MD

Jessica Walton, Baltimore, MD

Xiaofu Wang, Baltimore, MD

The Sondheim Artscape Prize is held in conjunction with the annual Artscape juried exhibition and produced with the Walters Art Museum and the Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA).  Approximately six finalists are selected for the final review for the prize.  Their work is showcased at the Walters Art Museum from Saturday, June 17 through Sunday, August 13, 2017.  Additionally, an exhibition of the semifinalists’ work is shown in the Decker and Meyerhoff galleries of MICA on Friday, July 21 through Sunday, August 6, 2017.  An opening reception for the semifinalist exhibition takes place Thursday, July 20, 2017 from 6pm to 9pm at MICA, located at 1303 W. Mount Royal Avenue. 

The fellowship winner is selected from the Walters Art Museum exhibition after review of the installed art and an interview with each finalist by the jurors.  Jurors for 2017 include Curator at the SculptureCenter in Long Island City Ruba Katrib, New York-based contemporary artist Clifford Owens, and Curator at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Musuem Nat Trotman.

Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize Timeline

Announcement of finalists: Mid-April 2017
Finalists Exhibition at the Walters Art Museum: Saturday, June 17-Sunday, August 13, 2017
Award announcement: Saturday, July 15, 2017, 7pm (Galleries open at 6pm)
Semifinalist Exhibition at MICA: Friday, July 21-Sunday, August 6, 2017
Semifinalist Exhibition opening reception: Thursday, July 20, 2017, 6-9pm
Artscape: Friday, July 21- Sunday, July 23, 2017

Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize

The Sondheim Artscape Prize is named in honor of Janet and Walter Sondheim who had been instrumental in creating the Baltimore City that exists today.  Walter Sondheim, Jr. had been one of Baltimore’s most important civic leaders for over 50 years.  His accomplishments included oversight of the desegregation of the Baltimore City Public Schools in 1954 when he was president of the Board of School Commissioners of Baltimore City.  Later, he was deeply involved in the development of Charles Center and the Inner Harbor.  He continued to be active in civic and educational activities in the city and state and served as the senior advisor to the Greater Baltimore Committee until his death in February 2007.

Janet Sondheim danced with the pioneering Denishawn Dancers, a legendary dance troupe founded by Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn.  Later, she turned to teaching where she spent 15 years at the Children’s Guild working with severely emotionally disturbed children.  After retirement, she was a volunteer tutor at Highlandtown Elementary School.  She married Walter in 1934, and they were together until her death in 1992.


America's largest free arts festival, attracting more than 350,000 attendees, offers concerts on multiple outdoor stages, art exhibitions, an artists’ market, a full schedule of dance, theater and opera, jazz, classical, folk and experimental music, children’s activities, exhibitors, and an extensive variety of local food and beverage vendors on Mount Royal Avenue and North Charles Street.

The 2017 Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize is made possible through the generous support of the the Abell Foundation, Alex. Brown & Sons Charitable Foundation, Charlesmead Foundation, Ellen Sondheim Dankert, France-Merrick Foundation, Hecht-Levi Foundation, Legg Mason, M&T Charitable Foundation, Amy & Chuck Newhall, Henry & Ruth Blaustein Rosenberg Foundation, M. Sigmund & Barbara Shapiro Philanthropic Fund, John Sondheim and The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company.

For more information on the Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize, call 410-752-8632.

Follow us on Twitter
What's New

Our Sponsors

Our Advertisers